Everyday Pensacola
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Everyday Pensacola

A place to discuss Pensacola, Florida area topics as well as the rest of the nation/world. To write a post, you must register and log in.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Issue w/Excel (.xlxs)... looking for some help

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
riceme

riceme

Issue w/Excel (.xlxs)... looking for some help Empty
PostSubject: Issue w/Excel (.xlxs)... looking for some help   Issue w/Excel (.xlxs)... looking for some help EmptyFri Mar 29, 2013 2:45 pm

I'm pretty adept with Excel... I wouldn't necessarily say that I'm an expert, but I can do everything my job requires and then some. I love the program... it's super nifty for all sorts of things, and I use it to track my personal finances as well as at using it daily for work. I worked a couple regular days then a couple 14-hr days this week, so I'm catching up on some personal finance malarkey today.

Anyhow, I came across an issue in .xlxs Excel today that I cannot seem to troubleshoot... in the very simplest of functions, no less! I went to SUM a column of + and - transactions and the SUM came out to a very obviously too large number. I went to the previous month and performed the same function and got the same (or similar) result at which time I realized that Excel was reading the - transactions as +'s. ???!!!

I have never before seen or heard of this, and went through to ensure there were no accidental spaces or anything hinky, and there isn't... Any ideas from our Excel users? I'd surely appreciate it.

Like a Star @ heaven Many thanks!
Back to top Go down
riceme

riceme

PostSubject: Re: Issue w/Excel (.xlxs)... looking for some help   Issue w/Excel (.xlxs)... looking for some help EmptyFri Mar 29, 2013 3:17 pm

Huh. Well I figgered it out. I went into Format Cells and changed the column/s to Currency :: $USD and that resolved the issue.