Everyday Pensacola
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Everyday Pensacola

A place to discuss Pensacola, Florida area topics as well as the rest of the nation/world. To write a post, you must register and log in.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

This is not a dog.

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage

This is not a dog. Empty
PostSubject: This is not a dog.   This is not a dog. EmptyFri Apr 04, 2014 8:57 pm

http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/oddnews/couple-who-claimed-they-caught-a-live-chupacabra--chooses-to-have-the-animal-euthanized-195957358.html

I don't know what it is but all you have to do is look at its back paws and you know it is not a dog. I'm not an expert on raccoons, but I doubt it is one of those either.

How come as soon as somebody catches something weird it has to be euthanized? Also, why not find the thing and do an autopsy on it? Are we so all fired sure that we know everything that exists on our planet?

It frustrates me that more research wasn't done on this animal.
Back to top Go down
Eric

Eric

This is not a dog. Empty
PostSubject: Re: This is not a dog.   This is not a dog. EmptyFri Apr 04, 2014 10:27 pm

That's one strange looking animal. Dogs don't grip things with their paws, either. Raccoons aren't canines.

Those Texas wildlife folks don't seem to give a damn.
Back to top Go down
http://ericericson.net
riceme

riceme

This is not a dog. Empty
PostSubject: Re: This is not a dog.   This is not a dog. EmptySat Apr 05, 2014 8:58 pm

Seems like a no-brainer to have contacted a nearby university, particularly since Fish & Game was not interested. Strange.
Back to top Go down
Melissa
Admin
Melissa

This is not a dog. Empty
PostSubject: Re: This is not a dog.   This is not a dog. EmptySun Apr 06, 2014 9:47 am

That long snout makes me think it may be a possum with mange.